view of a female lion opening her mouth

Customer Reviews

This review section is intended to help promote confidence in booking with Tailormade Africa. All of the reviews below have come directly to us from our clients.

 

RECENT REVIEWS

Susan & Andy D : August : Travelled to Zimbabwe : First safari

More amazing than I had envisaged.

The whole adventure had been put together with all the transfers absolutely first class. The whole holiday was fantastic and tailor made with perfection. We never had to worry about any transfers or problems at immigration. The whole holiday went so smoothly. I will recommend Tailor Made Africa with their expert advise and thorough knowledge of the camps and their whereabouts.

I would personally like to thank you for putting together the most amazing trip to Africa for us.

From the very start, organising the Elephant Express to Bomani Camp, then on to Nehimba. The two camps were so different and each so exciting in different ways.

I would to thank Pets at Bomani, who totally inspired us with the extensive knowledge of the Animal tracks, the animals habits and the plants. We saw a kill which he explained about the behaviour of the bamboos, The ability to know his whereabouts in both the National Game Park and the concessionary parks was fantastic. Pets had so much passion for his job and enthusiasm it was wonderful.

As I have a disability with MS and found it difficult to get into the trucks I always sat in the front and Pets provided a step to help me get in. He was sociable and all of us found him incredibly helpful and pleasant to be with.

The second camp Nehimba, We were greeted by Ann and Tyrone. Brendan was our guide for this trip. The next day was a long day so they packed us up with a fabulous picnic, a large selection of salads, drinks and coffee and plenty of water.

Brendan knew the area well and first of all we followed Leopard tracks, saw a pride of Lions with their cubs. Brendan's extensive knowledge of the whereabouts of the lion tracks and where they would be hiding was amazing, they were so camouflaged. but we were able to take some fabulous photos. The evening was spent watching the elephants come to the water’s edge and drink from the pool. It was almost a shame to go and eat.

The meals were absolutely fabulous, with so little space to cook they provided first class meals

We were then driven through the borders and immigration, which went very well. Now time to board the Zambezi Queen. 'this was my dream'. Again this was first class, met up with some great people. First class food. Trips out in a smaller boat on the Chobe river. We saw crocodiles, lots of Birds and a Cheetah. On the last day the staff of the boat cooked an African meal and gave us a dance show.

Overall this was an amazing holiday that was perfect in every sense. Every day was so exciting.

I would be happy to recommend Tailor Made Africa and this trip to anyone. We are now ready to book another trip with you.


John & Tracy S with their children : Travelled August 2017 : Mauritius : Family Holiday 

Communications were very good throughout the booking process with nothing being too much trouble. We originally planned to go to Madagascar and Tailormade produced a very exciting itinerary. We, however, changed our mind and decided instead to go to Mauritius. Tailormade quickly produced a revised holiday to suit our new requirements and were very competitive on price compared with other tour companies. Rob Morley was always helpful and very good at explaining his proposals. Very enjoyable holiday!


David G : GB : Travelled August 2017 : Zimbabwe : First safari

The service provided was excellent from start to finish. I was given good advice on all aspects of my trip, including which camera gear to bring. My agent at Tailormade Africa was available on the phone or for meetings at all times.

The result was I had a thoroughly enjoyable trip and am looking forward to my next African adventure.


Geoffrey B : AU : Travelled July 2017 : Tanzania : First safari

For my 60th birthday Clyde at Tailormade Africa was recommended by a good friend and experienced Safari expert.

Communication was excellent, attention to details first class and the whole trip just worked.
The choice of accommodation, personal guides, ability to see the most amazing wildlife was second to none.

We are now hooked on Africa and are currently planning our next trip.


Tina & Amit : GB : Travelled July 2017 : Tanzania : 2-5 safaris

So this was my brief to Clyde: I have been on many Safaris and to numerous countries in Africa.... What can you do for me!
I had high expectations and wanted value for my money. From the initial phone call to the last, Clyde listened, called around to specific lodges I wanted to use and helped twig the holiday to suit me and my teenage boys!

To say he organised a holiday which was phenomenal is an understatement. I didn't think he would be able to please a seasoned traveller like me! 

The accomodation in Tanzania (lemala mara, Serengeti) surpassed our expectations and Zanzibar's Matemwe lodge was paradise. Both the places Clyde recommended were exactly as he said they would be. Your honesty was so refreshing I'm glad I listened to Clyde!
The first half of the trip included staying with Lemala accommodation and food.... Simply wow. From their service to helpful staff it was amazing. My family joked with the Safari guide Juma at the Lemara Mara, that he should phone the animals to have them waiting....and miraculously they were!!! The migration was even more spectacular than I had expected. 

The second week we were in Zanzibar. The staff at the lodge were amazing and really catered for all our needs. The food and rooms were awesome! The sand bank excursion was one we will never ever forget, the swim with dolphins, the varied sealife and the reef, were so much fun. I can't thank the management enough for everything they did us. Their smiles and getting every morning were a great touch.

Finally, our holiday from the moment we flew out to the various destinations and numerous flights and pick were brilliantly organised.
My family and I loved the postcard and texts we were getting from Clyde to wish us a happy journey along the way.

We will be going to Zambia and Zimbabwe next summer and Clyde will be helping us book that!

Thank you Tailormade Africa.


John & Nikki : GB : Travelled June 2017 : Tanzania : 2-5 safaris

Tailormade Africa's Rob Morley, had arranged our previous, incredible "once", or as it turns out, "first in a lifetime Safari" a few years ago. So why would we look any further than Rob, to organise another excursion for us? A short "virtual safari" and we soon tracked Rob and Tailormade Africa down.

It's so much easier, in my view, to deal with someone with whom you strike-up an immediate rapport, and feel you can trust! All using telephone and emails, a virtual friend you might say! So it was with Rob who offers friendly advice, guidance and personal expertise, giving one confidence in the wonderful time to be had.

It's a great pleasure working up an itinerary with Rob as he sifts through your ideas and thoughts, moulds them into a proposal, always testing your views, until at last the plan crystallises. No detail is too small! All this done with enthusiasm for the subject, great humour and the sole intention of creating opportunities for the best possible experience for YOU!

We wanted an "adventure"; more remote tented camps, game drives and to feel more "immersed". Not for us the whistle-stop touring, lodges, or the potentially "popular" locations. We visited camps in the Serengeti, western corridor, and Ruaha National Park in Tanzania.

We were not disappointed, enthralling locations, great service from camps teams, comfortable accommodation, lovely food - bush breakfasts, buffet lunches and silver service dinner. The guides were only too willing to share their knowledge with us and worked hard to find extra special game watching experiences. Everyone seems so proud of their own "piece of paradise" and determined that you should share in it - even for a moment!

It is an absolute privilege to see the wild creatures in their natural surroundings! The Tailormade Africa team created for us adventures that were unbelieveably magical and totally unmissable!

I have no doubt they would do so for you!


Angel M : US : Travelled June 2017 : Zimbabwe : First safari

If you want a true Safari experience, look no further than Tailormade Africa. I can't say enough things about how smooth the process was and how helpful and informative Clyde was in particular. He set me and my friend up with amazing accommodations and an excellent Safari camp in Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe to then transfer for a couple of days to Victoria Falls. We didn't have to worry about anything and all we had to do, was enjoy all the amazing wild animals and the stunning views of the park.


Andrea B : US : Travelled May 2017: Botswana & Zimbabwe : Family safari

From my first enquiry on the website to the very last moment of our trip, we were completely satisfied with everything. Clyde was informative, knowledgable, personable and even called us at home in the US to discuss our requirements. He arranged a mobile safari for my family that we will never forget. It was the experience of a lifetime and, although my husband and I have been on safari before, this one was far superior in every way. On arrival into Botswana until we were taken to the airport in Zimbabwe, we were treated brilliantly, felt completely safe and had access to professionals 24/7. I would definitely have no hesitation in recommending Clyde.


Mike R : GB : Travelled April 2017 :  : Rwanda : Solo Traveller

I thoroughly enjoyed my Tailormade Africa experience in Rwanda. The service was brilliant, and my guide (Aimable) was knowledgeable and friendly. The gorilla trekking experience was a once in a lifetime event that I will remember forever. I couldn't recommend it more!


Nigel B : GB : Travelled March 2017 :  Odzala National Park in the Republic of Congo : Regular Africa Traveller

As we had previously been on safari in the usual laces several time, we asked Tailormade for a safari which was off the usual track. Clyde at Tailormade suggested the Odzala National Park in the Republic of Congo near the Gabon Border. He briefed us fully about the pluses and minuses and he turned out to be spot on (including his recommendation of waterproof socks!). This is not a place to go to see the Big 5 and its not a place to go if you hate being bitten by tetse flies and their friends. But it is a place to go for a really authentic experience, with Western lowland gorillas, trekking on foot (sometimes in water up to our midriffs) and in kayaks with only you and the guide and forest elephant and forest buffalo or hyenas as your companions. We had booked our flights separately from the safari but Clyde spotted that our travel agent had booked an internal flight in the Congo on an airline which had ceased operating. This was not his job but he spotted it and proactively helped solve the problem for us. He also arranged extra support for us at no extra cost to explore Brazzaville and the local tribal art markets. I would certainly recommend him and Tailormade to everyone thinking of a safari.


Simon C : UK : Travelled February 2017 : Tanzania : Regular Africa traveller

I stumbled across Tailormade Africa (TMA) whilst I was looking to book a "once in a lifetime" safari holiday for my wife who is employed in the veterinary world, so animals are her thing. Having initially spoken to Rob, one of the owners, we together chose a 14 day trip to Tanzania taking in 3 different camps across the Serengeti at the time of the great migration with a few days on the beach in Zanzibar at the end. Rob's knowledge was outstanding and he really listened to what we wanted and "Tailormade" the holiday accordingly....all the employees of TMA have very in depth on the ground experience of Africa, some as long standing guides and it really shines through. It was an astonishingly good holiday, the best we have ever had and we've been lucky to experience many places around the world...at one of the camps we shared it with two world renowned international wildlife photographers and they said that where we where was probably the best place in the world to see big cats in their natural element....it was so memorable, just like being on an Attenborough TV program! We had a very small local issue which TMA addressed immediately and to our complete satisfaction going above and beyond. The holiday was so good that we will be going on several more "once in a lifetime" holidays organised by TMA. If you only have one holiday to book in your life, ask TMA to organise it, it will be the best that you have ever experience - safaris aren't cheap if you do them properly and give back to the local communities and this is why you should not use any other company, TMA care about you, they care about the wildlife, they care about the environment and they care about the local communities. They use companies that share their ethos and this is so important in the world we live in today.


Sandra Fox : US : Travelled February 2017 : Botswana : Regular Africa traveller

I found them willing to discuss which trips are suitable for my requirements, they are very aware of costs and the type of experience you want, I was looked after very well met off the plane, directed to my small aircraft, looked after in every camp, providing an unforgettable trip, I hope to avail of their services in the near future and would definitely recommend them to anyone. Thank you Tailormade Africa.


Hiba : AE : Travelled February 2017  : Masaai Mara, Kenya : First Safari

Everything from the planning to the holiday itself was seamless. Extremely helpful and communicative team...the support and organization was beyond expectations even throughout the trip. The Safari itself was excellent...clean and safe and very knowledgeable guides.


Taimoor : AE : Travelled February 2017  : Masaai Mara, Kenya : First Safari

Impeccably organised trip!

Clyde and the Tailormade Africa team really did a great job for us! Before our departure where we were given beautiful personalised dashboards of the trip to come. The flight to the Masai Mara was convenient and quick and our fantastic guide (and now friend) was waiting for us as soon as we got out of the plane.

The accommodation was beautiful and just the kind of thing we wanted to experience The staff at the camps went out of their way to make us feel at home and served us beautiful meals, drinks and desserts everyday.

Thats before we even got on the safari drives! Which were a riveting experiences everyday, further enriched by how knowledgable the guides were and how generous they were with their knowledge. We even did a walking safari which was one of the coolest experiences of my life!

Thanks Clyde & Team Tailormade Africa! You'll be hearing from us again soon!


Julie & Jeremy L : UK : Travelled December 2016 : Uganda & South Africa : Family Safari : Regular Africa travellers

Tailormade Africa yet again did a great job putting together our recent trip to Cape Town and gorilla trekking in Uganda. Their recommendations for where to go and cho ice of hotel/lodges was spot on. Everything worked seamlessly when we were there and everyone in our group had a great time. Just the right amount of adventure and time to relax. We have booked several holidays through Clyde who is extremely knowledgeable about everything to do with safaris in Africa. You know you are in good hands and it is also good to know that their prices are very competitive. I am sure we will be back for another adventure soon.


Rosie & Bob H : USA : Travelled November 2016 : Ethiopia : Regular Africa travellers

Clyde Beaty and Tailormade Africa are the best. Look no further. These are the people you need to book through. Clyde has booked two very different custom trips to Africa for me and they have both been exactly what I wanted. He has an in depth knowledge of many African countries and the hotel or camp facilities as well as the guiding options available. One trip he designed was over a month, covered several countries and many different venues. It was timed perfectly. We were never bored and he booked us at just the right time of year to see what we were looking for. Our most recent trip with him was three weeks long in the fall of 2016 to Ethiopia. This trip was extremely complicated to put together, involved many internal flights and we asked to go not only to the tribal areas, but some other areas that were really "off the grid" and had no hotels or restaurants. We stayed in local huts or camping facilities, had out own cook, food and camping supplies brought in from Addis. The food, camping gear, itinerary and the guides were all great. Not easy to do in Ethiopia. The high end stuff we did was great and so was the out of the way stuff. Also, I have always felt I got good value from Clyde. None of this kind of thing is cheap, but looking at what we got and what we paid for it, I was very pleased. I also recommended Clyde to my niece who wanted an Africa honeymoon. He did an amazing job and worked within her budget and came up with a truly memorable honeymoon. Clyde is your man.


Denise & Roy C : UK :Travelled October 2016 : South Africa : First Safari

Thank you so much Rob for arranging this lovely safari. The drive to the reserve was spectacular and the setting for the tented camp was breathtaking and the sunrise was, WOW. Our ranger was very diligent and spent a lot of time seeking out the animals. We saw Rhino, Elephant, Zebra, Cheetah - we walked to see this one - Giraffe and lots more including white Lions in the distance. We fell in love with South Africa and were privileged to visit a children's nursery in a Zulu Settlement in Durban and afternoon tea at the Oyster Box. Cape Town was great. We did all the usual things, Robben Island, Table Mountain, District 6 and Boulders beach penguins! Not forgetting numerous Vineyards!! Thank you again Rob for organising this. I will pass your name onto anyone who shows a remote interest in visiting Africa.


Pepi : US : Travelled September 2016 : Zimbabwe : First Safari

Our booking agent was Clyde Beaty at Tailormade Africa. He listened to what we wanted, helped us examine the various options and created a trip that met both our desires and budget. The incredible part of the actual trip was how personal it was. Our group of four went on safari with guides who had been in the Zimbabwe outback for decades. In many instances we had both a senior guide (of the quality who teaches, examines, and licenses other guides) and a senior tracker dedicated to the four of us. We were able to track and walk up to a sleeping elephant without waking it, spot rare birds, observe both wild lions unhabituated to humans and a community of somewhat habituated lions who allowed us to observe at close range their cubs playing. The entire experience was very special.


Jason M : US : Travelled September 2016 : Zimbabwe : Regular Africa Traveller

Expert advice and arrangements

Being new to Africa travel, we had only vague ideas about where we'd like to go on safari and what kind of camps and tours were available. We also started planning a bit late for getting the best camps in the best season. Tailormade Africa's Clyde Beaty talked us through the options and came back with a perfect two-week tour of Northern Zimbabwe, including four different camps -- a mobile camp in Hwange NP, a private lodge on Lake Kariba, a small seasonal camp in Mana Pools NP and finally a more elaborate and luxurious camp in a concession , also at Mana Pools. Once in Zimbabwe everything went smoothly (despite an airline delay arriving); all the land connections and internal small plane flights were as planned. The camps were each different and each had its attractions; taken together they were a fantastic introduction to Southern Africa wildlife and safari culture. Hope we can go back soon -- we would definitely do it through Tailormade Africa!


Mel & Liz H : UK : Travelled September 2016 : South Africa : First safari

Rob and the team at Tailormade Africa made this one of the best holidays we have ever had. From initial discussions to getting off the plane when we arrived home, Tailormade Africa arranged everything we had requested in a most friendly and professional manner. They advised on flights, accommodation, places of interest, car hire, driving routes and restaurants. They and their team obviously have a wealth of knowledge which enabled us to get the very most out of this 3 week holiday. We travelled by car for much of the time through the most dramatic and interesting countryside staying in fabulous accommodation and visiting several wildlife areas ending up on a 4 day safari before flying home. - Fabulous ! - highly recommended and would travel with them again without question. Thanks Rob et al.


Catherine W & Diosmer R : UAE : Travelled August 2016 : Kenya : First safari

"I just wanted to drop you a note to thank you Rob for all your help for booking the safari. We had an absolutely AMAZING time. It exceeded all expectations. It's certainly a trip we will never forget, we didn't' want to leave. Thanks again."


Wael & Audrey J : UAE : Travelled June 2016 :  Rwanda / Kenya / Zimbabwe / Botswana & Malawi : Honeynmoon : Regular Africa Travellers

I am a hard-core extra picky traveler. I have 3 core problems when travelling: (1) Human destruction and devastation of our planet has reached an all-time high. We now consume 1.5x more than what the planet can provide. If you love the wildlife and the natural environment as much as I do, you know how hard it is to find “true hidden gems” in the world – they are scarce and rare. (2) I also struggle to find the balance of visiting beautiful pristine locations using companies/hotels/people that are eco-friendly/sustainable, local community-friendly and are “in-it for the long-run”. (3) Lastly, I find it hard to find somebody I can TRUST and RELY on to ensure everything is organized and planned for me from A to Z without any bad surprises.

In simple words, Clyde and his team at Tailormade Africa truly understand all the above and DELIVER on their commitments. In summary, they know their stuff. They will openly share their personal experiences (because they’ve been everywhere you will go), their concerns, and even the “bad” parts! They are always there to help. I have worked with countless number of travel consultants and nobody comes close. Tailormade Africa is my little secret weapon to delivering ultimate travel experiences that make a difference in the world! The world needs more of them!


In depth knowledge of 16 countries

The founders and directors of Tailormade Africa have over 35 years of combined experience in the industry and have built up detailed and in-depth knowledge of 16 countries on the African continent. Not only do we offer well-known destinations such as Tanzania and Kenya, but we actively promote and support countries where tourism is not as advanced or – dare we say it –compromised by over commercialisation, such as Sierra Leone and Ethiopia. Including some of these lesser-known regions in your Tailormade Africa itinerary is highly rewarding. Not only will you enjoy a sense of exploration, you will be making a positive and long-lasting impact on the development of local tourism, conservation and job creation. Please click on the flags below for more information on each country.

Let us tailor make your next journey

Whether you are a seasoned Africa traveller or thinking about visiting the continent for the first time, we would love to speak to you. Our first aim is to get to know you, what interests you have, and then match these with our tailor-made collection of experiences, camps and lodges. It's always easier to discuss these things with an informal chat first, so please do pick up the phone and give us a call. We look forward to speaking to you.

Fill in the form below and we'll get back to you asap

info@tailormadeafrica.com

+44 7809 726266 (Clyde)
+44 7791 360170 (Rob)